I passed!

Okay, that shouldn’t be such a big deal for most kids – then again, most kids are used to getting really good report cards.

I didn’t fail anything, but I did manage to get three C’s. 😦 I know, horrible achievement and blah, blah, blah. I’m a senior and I should have a B average and blah, blah, BLAH. I don’t. It’s over with. I’m not worried about it.

I have a feeling that the next six-eight months is going to be a severe wake-up call for my family. They have gone through the years of my life thinking of  me as the smartest girl in the family (roughly), the girl with the most potential to go on to college and bring in a great pay-check later on in life. And as much as I want to believe that too…I’m sorry, but it’s not going to happen. If I do graduate in June, which I really think I can, I will have to go to a state college for the first two years, and hope that I can get my average up high enough to qualify for the popular State Scholarship  around here.

This Haiti stuff is really getting to me. They have so much to worry about that us here in southern America don’t. Right now they’re worrying whether or not they will receive their next meal, or a drink of water. My peers worry about not having gas money to go shopping, and whether or not their truck is dirty enough.

I’m planning on donating blood here in the next few weeks, maybe sooner. I think I’ll have to plan it all out, sign up and get the dates and then tell my mom. She’s all for love and kindness, but anything she thinks might “threaten” her daughter makes her all puffy and maternal. Nice timing, right?

I also want to donate bone marrow, as I’ve said in a previous post, but I must be 18 or have parental consent — and I know for a F.A.C.T. that when my mom gets all the information about how dangerous it is and how painful it’s supposed to be, really, really painful, the answer is going to be a big NEGATIVE. But I want to do it, because that kind of thing saves lives. It’s rare to have a matching bone marrow specimen, so the more donors they have, the more likely they are to find a match for an ailing person.

I’m researching, filling myself with knowledge so that maybe when she starts arguing, I’ll have facts to back up my reasoning.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

