SPEAK. WE listen.

For all you Muse fans whom are not Maroon 5 fans, you might want to look away.

Maroon 5 and Muse sound decently alike. I was listening to “Sunday Morning” and “This Love” (both by M5) this morning, and then I compared those songs, mentally of course, to Muse songs like “Feeling Good” and “Sing For Absolution” — I don’t know exactly what it is, considering the lead singer of Muse has a higher voice than that of Maroon 5; but both bands are very good, Muse just has a more “techny, sciene” sound to their music.

For the Muse fans that read my blog: I have a right to my own opinion, so don’t bash my opinions because it’s my right to say them. My blog. But I’d love to hear your opinions too. You write them there, I’ll write mine here.

Besides that, on a “literature” note, I got a new book yesterday! The infamous ‘Speak’, by Laurie Halse Anderson; I checked it out of the library. I’d seen the movie adaption before I read it, starring Kristen Stewart, Michael Angarano, & Eric Lively. It was a really powerful, accurate movie. The books (and that following movie) were about a girl battling with depression and social outcast-ism after being raped at an end-of-the-year party her Junior year. The guy she was raped by, named “IT” for much of the book, is a hottie who thinks he rules the campus and can get away with anything because of his good looks and dirty mouth/and he’s a monster.

I reccomend the book & I’ll be adding it to my “Novel Reviews” that I have been trying to frequently update. I don’t know if anyone reads them — doesn’t bother me if they don’t. I just like writing them, getting my thoughts and expressing my opinion on a topic out on paper. I like making myself sound interested and interesting with something; and I read alot, people, so in order to keep track of the books I’ve really loved in the past, the “reviews” help.

“You don’t see what you possess
a beauty calm and clean.

It floods the sky and blurs the darkness
like a chandelier.

All the light that you possess
is skewed by lakes and seas.

The shattered surface
so imperfect
is all that you believe.”

Beautiful song lyrics, aren’t they?  (You Are the Moon – The Hush Sound)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Bailey
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 01:15:30

    I’m a fan of both Maroon 5 and Muse and I really do not think that they sound alike. I imagine Maroon 5 as bright and cheery while Muse comes off as dark. Plus, the instruments that the two use aren’t entirely similar. Muse uses many arpeggios in their music and their pitch/keys change dramatically.

    I will agree that Maroon 5 and Muse have KINDA similar vocals. Kinda. They move their voice up and down in a familiar manner (although Matthew Bellamy has a way with hitting those high notes that makes my jaw drop in awe ❤ Adam Levine, though very, very talented cannot compare). But, they are very, very different bands who are unique in their own amazing ways.

  2. amanda
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 01:21:12

    I accept your opinion.

Leave a Reply

