Sunday, January 04, 2009

 
Be content with what you have, for God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” So say with confidence, “The LORD is my helper; I will not be afraid.” – Hebrews 13:5,6

Love is patient, love is kind, love does not insist on it’s own way. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails. – 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Happy is the man who finds wisdom and understanding for the gain from it is better than gain from silver and profit better than gold.” – Proverbs 3:13,14

He will fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy” – Job 8:21

…say to those with fearful hearts, ‘Be strong, do not fear; your God will come, he will come with vengeance; with divine retribution he will come to save you.”Isaiah 35:4

The last quote in this post is known to me as my morning prayer. It’s something I speak to myself this morning, and will continue to, to start my day off in the right way. It will help me keep positive throughout the day, to remember my values and inhibitions, so that I may not sin further against God.

I am going to start doing this. Every Sunday, I will have a few lines of scripture to share with you all — “why?”, you ask? Because there’s nothing wrong with scripture. You may believe what you will, and I will neither push my faith on you, nor force you to pay tribute to it with me; I only ask that you respect my values, and if you agree with me, that is for the better.

Sometimes I might have as many quotations as I had this morning, or some days I might just have one, or two. I find these quotes in the bible, or online that have been taken from the bible; and I share with you the ones that really make an impact on me, or that I think need to be heard.
Job 8:21, in one of the above quotes, says that “He will fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy”. I think everyone needs to feel joy and express laughter and smiles every day of their life. I know I do, especially with my life — you never know just when something is going to change, for the worse or the better, and maybe that’s what I’m worried about.

Good morning, & Good Sunday =)

 

Give ear to my words, O LORD, consider my meditation. Hearken unto the voice of my cry, my King, and my God: for unto thee will I pray. My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up. For thou are not a God that hath pleasure in wickedness: neither shall evil dwell with thee. The foolish shall not stand in thy sight: thou hatest all workers of iniquity. Thou shalt destroy them that speak leasing: the LORD will abhor the bloody and deceitful man. But as for me, I will come into thy house in the multitude of thy mercy: and in thy fear will I worship toward thy holy temple. Lead me, O LORD, in thy righteousness because of mine enemies; make thy way straight before my face. For there is no faithfulness in their mouth; their inward part is very wickedness; their throat is an open sepulchre; they flatter with their tongue. Destroy thou them, O God; let them fall by their own counsels; cast them out in the multitude of their transgressions; for they have rebelled against thee. But let all those that put their trust in thee rejoice: let them ever shout for joy, because thou defendest them: let them also that love thy name be joyful in thee. For thou, LORD, wilt bless the righteous; with favour wilt thou compass him as with a shield. ” – Psalm 5:1-12 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 20:52:25

    awe, Amanda, I can’t wait to read all your future journals on Sundays!!
    Psalm 5:1-12 is AHMAZIN, it means a lot to me. ❤

    SO, you should come visit my school soooooooooooooon. =]]]

Leave a Reply

