Love Story

I have been listening to that song (Love Story – Taylor Swift [i know, country]) for like a non-stop week. I don’t know why I just really love it; I think it’s that inner “hopeless romantic” in me. Yeah, hopeless.

For those of you who don’t know the song, and you can watch the video on Youtube for clarification from the lyrics, it starts out about two highschoolers who meet and have an instant connection. In seconds, the girl has a “flashback” (more like a fantasy) of herself and himself in a different time. As if they had met before, but in a different life as different people. He is Romeo, crossing a crowded ballroom to dance with her, and she is his fair Juliet; they dance and the instant attraction is of course made.
But her father disagrees with the thought of a relationship. The lyrics never specifiy why, but you could easily guess that it was for the same reason Shakespeares’ Romeo was not good for his Juliet. Status. So they sneak around to see each other, all in the dead of night, under shadow, and love springs forth. Juliet wants the two of them to run away together, because he is everything to her. What is it about the forbidden fruit that makes it seem all the more delectable?
The song ends with the two of them meeting on the outskirts of town, and her expression of: ‘Romeo save me, I’ve been feeling so alone. I keep waiting on you, but you never show. Is this in my head? I don’t know what to think…’ and it is then that he kneels and proposes to her. “Marry me, Juliet, you’ll never have to be alone. I love you and that’s all I really know. I talked to your dad, go pick out a white dress; it’s a love story, baby just say ‘yes’.”

*sigh * I know. Adorable isn’t it?
And a little cliche, but we all need some of that now and then.
I am finished with two FULL chapters of ‘Jasper’. The short story, hopefully novel, that I started a while back. I have the final chapter, and one that is towards the beginning. I say towards because I’m not quiet sure where to begin his story. Early teens? That’d be confusing because his pianist skills wouldn’t be fully appreciated then. Early childhood? No, because then his mother would still be alive and we’d have to go through the pain of losing her. Present day? Impossible, because we would need know how the friendship with Melony started and spiraled.

But I’ve already gotten several key scenes/half-chapters jotted down and saved in documents on my laptop. I wish I could work on it 24/7, but the constant pain of sleep and school keeps me from doing that. And blast, my procrastination has already kept me from working on the two essays I should be working on over Fall Break. I’m going to be so screwed if I don’t get them done before this weekend. I keep putting them off. Friday, maybe? No, going to the movies with someone. Tomorrow? That’s effen Thanksgiving, so I’ll be cooking all day! Saturday? Seeing my dad. Sunday? That’s the day before they are DUE!.

Procrasination in teens is the leading cause of Monday morning caffeine hangovers.
Grr. But I can’t stop writing.
Leave a Reply

