Muh muirn beatha dan

Muh mùirn beatha dán, to be accented correctly.

It means “My one True Love”– it’s Gaelic (old Celtic). And it’s beautiful, it’s pronounce beautifully as well.

I’ve wanted to get interested in a new language (besides the basic Spanish)

And I chose Latin. 1200-1500 B.C. Latin.

But Gaelic is really, really pretty too. Yet it’s a lot harder to learn, because of all the accents & stuff!

We’ll see :))

Muh muirn beatha dan doesn’t refer to a highschool fling, or a temporary boyfriend; even someone you have “strong feelings for”. It’s meaning literally translates into “my one true love”; but that is an understatement. In those times, referring to someone as your beatha dan was to say that they were your soulmate, and that without them you have no reason for breath–no reason for life.

No, I haven’t found mine; and I don’t know if I will anytime soon. But whether I’m looking forward to meeting him, and experiencing that deep, compassionate love that can only lead to forever, I also feel very patient. You can’t rush perfection, right? Perfection might be pushing it a little– but love is blind. 🙂 I have a quote from one of the stories I’m reading, and it says:

The biggest disease today is not leprosy or tuberculosis, but rather the feeling of being unwanted.” – Mother Theresa. I think that is so true

I go to school with people that think unsatisfying, sexual relationships mean that the partner they are committing it with “wants” them. They feel wanted because it’s on a physical level, but whether it is more subconcious or not, the loneliness sets in when you have no one you are completely free around: no one to truly want you, to be around you, to hug you and talk to you no matter how utterly annoying you are. I have people like that, and I know that it would be worse than death to feel that sense of abandonment, of loneliness. And the quote that I leave you with today, luvs?

Music is given to us specifically to make order of things, to move from an anarchic, individualistic state to a regulated, perfectly conscious one, which alone insures vitality and durability.” – Igor Stravinsky

So, so true. I love my music :]]]

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brye
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 06:12:11

    I have found my muirn beatha dan! I may be in highschool but the feelings i get while im around him shake my body to my very being. He completes me, so well to the fact that we understand that material love isnt needed and that sex is something that symbolizes a passion not an act of love. We dont need nor do we engage in the act. Loving some one for what they dont give you is the best thing in the world and i hope that all of you will some day find your muirn beatha dan.

  2. amanda
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 23:31:53

    I am beyond glad that you have. 🙂
    And it’s amazing that you were able to find a guy that had the same idea about love & physical passion that you have while you were still in highschool! I have a feeling that it’s going to take me a little more time (once I’m outside of highschool) to find someone that erupts all those feelings for me.
    Sure, I have crushes; plenty of them. But none of them really shake me in the way that a “one true love” should be.

    I love saying it, too. Muirn beatha dan, murin beatha dan… 🙂
    Thank you for sharing your story with me, that’s awesome.

  3. Val
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 05:18:35

    So i have found my muirn beatha dan…he is my bestfriend…if that isnt ironic enough…the funny thing is i figured it out while i was still dating my boyfriend of two years…i fell for him, though nothing happened and it would never have while i was in a relationship…the feeling was electric and i knew it instantly…we cannot seem to get enough of eachother, years, minutes, hours are all too short a time…i feel empty when i am without him, as if he has taken a kidney or a lung and i am dying without it…i am horrified though that the universe made it so complicated…why couldnt i figure it out after the relationship? seems like a big cosmic joke!

  4. amanda
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 22:35:58

    Isn’t it always like that!?
    Falling in deep love with your best friend, forbidden to pursue the romance because of one thing or another.

    My advice to you would be to separate from the man that you know is not truly for you. You cannot spend your entire life, or even a portion of your life, wasted — we only have one life, for all we know, so we need to soak up every day like it’s the last one we’ll have to enjoy. You cannot allow yourself to suffer from someone else’s gain.

    I have a problem with falling for my best friends. Not falling “in love”, perhaps, because I’m not necessarily sure if love exists for me exactly; but I’ve fallen madly with fascination and likeness. Everything they say, everything they do astounds me and I wake up that day happy to be able to see them.

    It is the ultimate cosmic joke, and I am sorry the irony has fallen on you.
    Take a chance, carpe diem, know?

  5. Liam
    Jan 05, 2014 @ 02:12:51

    I unknowingly found mine a few months back. We had been best friends for a long while and i knew she had a thing for me but thought nothing of it. My friends finally convinced me to just give it a try and i did. Our relationship was amazing but due to my stupid attitude towards the fact that i knew she wouldn’t leave me and her issue with it drove us apart. I broke up with her thinking that i wouldn’t miss her but that only worked for about a day. I feel so bad about what happened and want to give us another chance because like they say, you never know how important something is too you until its gone. She is my muirn beatha don! I may be a junior in highschool but the feelings i have for her are unlike any iv’e ever felt before. Iv’e asked her how she feels about getting back together and she told me she wants to wait a while and see how she feels. We are still best friends but its hard to see her as just a friend. Im thinking about asking her to prom in a few months. Any suggestions on what to do? She is a year below me by the way.

Leave a Reply

